Book reviews, contemporary fiction, Women's Fiction

The Ever After by Sarah Pekkanen

3/5 stars

IMG_1535

Description:

In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally bestselling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (GlamourThe Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course—and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy…at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy—she’s lucky.

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call—and sees nine words that shatter her world.

Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last forever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret.

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post) bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis—and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.

My Review:

This was the first book I have read by Sarah Pekkanen and I really enjoyed her conversational writing style and her observations of contemporary life.  I could really relate to Josie – not only in the way she felt but in the things she did, like stop for lattes at Starbucks and buy a cheap elliptical machine.  I found myself smiling at the similarities between what Josie and Frank did and what my husband and I do, how we fight, what we do together.

Frank cheats on Josie and she finds out.  This causes her to examine their marriage to decide if it is worth saving.  This book shows that things are not always black and white, people make mistakes and we can’t necessarily say, “I would never…” because there are a lot of variables in every situation, such as what a great father Frank is – he comes up with living room dinners cooked in the fireplace and silly songs to sing to the kids – and how much Frank really does love Josie – he cares that her feet are cold, he wants to be there to help her with the kids.

In the end this story was about falling in love AGAIN with the person you are married to.  This book made me think about my own marriage, my husband and the things I love about him and I started to feel a level of appreciation for him and our marriage that I have not felt in a while.  This story was about the importance of making time for each other and your marriage and continuing to be open to each other.

I received a free digital copy of this book from Netgalley and Atria books in exchange for my honest review.

 

Book reviews, romance, Women's Fiction

Swear on this Life by Rene Carlino

3/5 stars

Screen Shot 2018-05-02 at 2.00.25 PM

Swear on This Life by Renèe Carlino is a story about Jason and Emiline’s life going between a book he wrote about their past and what she thought about it in the present. It was as if you were reading two books at the same time, but less confusing 😉. I enjoyed the book because it was an easy read and even though the ending was cheesy I did enjoy it.

I have been reading heavy, deep, intense, emotional books lately and I just wanted something light and happy and fun and this was perfect to lighten my mood up a bit!

Light a few candles, draw a bath, add some bubbles and lose yourself in something light and fun!