Book reviews, Can't Wait Wednesday

I Can’t Wait for…Watching You by Lisa Jewell #CWW #WOW

Screen Shot 2018-11-03 at 9.37.52 PM

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a meme hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings  to spotlight upcoming releases we are excited about that we have yet to read.

I am really excited about the upcoming release of Watching You by Lisa Jewell.  I loved The Girls in the Garden, I Found You and The House We Grew Up In.  Lisa Jewell’s writing style is very familiar, as though you are chatting with an old friend and she gives you details and insights into her characters that make them seem so real.  I actually have this book in my queue in Netgalley and plan to read it soon.  But it’s one of those things where I know that once I read it, it will be done and I want to savor the anticipation at least a little bit.

Watching You will be released on December 26, 2018 – just in time for that wondrous week between Christmas and New Year’s where time seems to stand still and the world is peaceful and it’s perfect to lay in bed and read!

Screen Shot 2018-11-03 at 9.36.39 PM.png

Summary:

The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the “riveting thriller” (PopSugarThen She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).

Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you.

As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father.

One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her.

Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam…

In Lisa Jewell’s latest brilliant “bone-chilling suspense” (People) no one is who they seem—and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered—and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As “Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace” (Booklist, starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.

7 thoughts on “I Can’t Wait for…Watching You by Lisa Jewell #CWW #WOW”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.